Skip to content

Wonderful Tomato Soup

September 28, 2009

The ingredients

The ingredients

Sorry (to anyone actually reading) that I haven’t updated in a week. I had a conference paper due today which has sucked up most of my time this past week. But before all my time was devoted to writing, I made this tomato soup.  I learned of this soup one day at the gym while watching FoodTV on the elliptical. Some people may think it is oxymoronic to exercise to cooking shows, but the highlight of my week is heading to the gym on Saturday morning and watching Julia Child. Of course Julia Child makes everything better.

Chopped vegetables

Chopped vegetables

All the vegetables for this recipe came from my local’s farmer market. Except for the basil. That came from my unkempt herb garden in my front yard. And all the vegetables needed to be chopped. I love chopping vegetables with my Santoku knife.

Filming olive oil

Filming olive oil

The soup started with a film of olive oil across the bottom of my Dutch oven.

Sauteing Vegetables

Sauteing Vegetables

And once the oil was shimmering, I added the carrots, celery, and red onion. This apparently created a rainbow of vegetables.

Diced tomatos

Diced tomatos

Then I diced four pounds of tomatoes. Beautiful red tomatoes.

Minced garlic

Minced garlic

Less beautiful but equally flavorful was the locally grown garlic. I added the garlic to the vegetables until fragrant, then tossed in the tomatoes and stock. This simmered for a while before I added a touch of cream and pureed the whole thing in my blender.

Finished soup

Finished soup

And, like a novice food blogger, I stopped taking pictures until after dinner was over.

Leftovers become lunch

Leftovers become lunch

But my picture taking failures did affect the soup. Which was great.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 11:39 pm

    Sounds great! My two favorite things in life are food and working out, so I do the two together all the time. I know it’s weird to be on a treadmill watching the Foodnetwork but I do it all the time. Good to know there are other crazies out there.

    • cookingupaphd permalink*
      October 8, 2009 12:05 am

      Glad to know it. If I could figure a way out to read my cookbooks on the elliptical and not get sweat on them, I would! Nice blog, btw.

  2. October 8, 2009 6:35 am

    Nice soup, I definitely need to try it. cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. Best Sheet Cake, Part I « Cooking up a PhD

Leave a Reply

