Skip to content

Spicy Orange Shrimp Stir-Fry

October 28, 2009

IMG_4430

If only you knew the troubles I went to acquire this seasoning. (Don’t worry, you’re about to.) At the biggest grocery store in town (or the biggest non-Wal-mart Super Center grocery store in town), I asked an employee in the spices/baking aisle if they had Old Bay seasoning. The 2nd assistant manager told me that if it wasn’t where I was looking, “probably not.” I then asked a person at the seafood counter, and he told me to look in the spice aisle. I don’t understand why with all their computers they couldn’t tell me “yes” or “no.” I then went a fancier grocery store only to learn that they were out and didn’t know when they would be getting any more. Fortunately, there was one more fancy grocery store in town that did have Old Bay Seasoning. For less than four dollars. Why was I so desperate for the spices contained in the yellow box? Because I planned to adapt this recipe into a stir-fry.

IMG_4426

Every stir-fry needs great vegetables, so I started my slicing the ends off of some beautiful organic green beans I had bought at my food co-op. These green beans would soon join some sliced mushrooms as the vegetable base for dinner.

IMG_4429

Here are the main ingredients for my stir-fry. Yes, I was lazy and bought pre-sliced mushrooms. But I was also cheap, because they were on sale and less expensive than non-pre-sliced mushrooms. I typically like to slice my own mushrooms because I like them thinner than the pre-sliced kind (why I am writing so much about mushrooms? because I love them!).

IMG_4431

To start the spicy orange mixture, I minced some garlic. To which I added orange juice, cayenne, and the Old Bay seasoning.

IMG_4439

Then I started cooking some rice by covering it with water, adding a bit of salt, and bring it all to a boil.

IMG_4442

With the spicy orange mixture done and the rice cooking, it was time to start cooking the main ingredients. I added some butter to my favorite nonstick skillet.

IMG_4444

When the butter finished melting, in went the beans and shrooms.

IMG_4450

While the vegetables were cooking, I rinsed and dried off the shrimp. Then I took the vegetables out of the pan, added more butter to the pan, and began cooking the shrimp.

IMG_4452

Which cook extremely quickly. And if you cook them for too long they become rubbery. I’m pretty good at judging this usually, but I will confess that these shrimps ended up a bit too chewy.

IMG_4445

I knew my rice was done when these little air bubbles poked through.

IMG_4454

I put my veggies and shrimp in a bowl while reducing the orange sauce.

IMG_4457

I dumped the orange sauce into the skillet and turn up the heat.

IMG_4458

The mixture would eventually reduce by half.

IMG_4463

I put some of the cooked rice on a plate. Because I was getting hungry. When the orange sauce had reduced, I added the shrimp and veggies to the skillet and coated them with the spicy goodness.

IMG_4466

Then I scooped some of it on top of the rice.

IMG_4465

And here it is up close. All said, this took about an hour to make, was delicious, and even served as lunch the next day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 11:47 pm

    This dish looks delicious! I adore Old Bay Seasoning in any recipe that calls for shrimp, it’s so reliable! The orange sauce looks very good! Yummy!

    • cookingupaphd permalink*
      October 30, 2009 7:16 pm

      I doubled the orange sauce from the original recipe as to account for the vegetables. This is easy enough to make on a weeknight.

  2. November 2, 2009 8:38 am

    I don’t eat crab, but I love Old Bay. Thanks for the recipe alternative.

  3. Stuart permalink
    July 27, 2010 2:08 pm

    I realize I’m a little late to the party, but they do in fact have Old Bay in stock at “unnamed big grocery store.” It’s next to the meat counter. I had to go find it the first time I visited the seafood truck that shows up in the DQ parking lot once every few weeks.

    Also, I will probably be making this later in the week.

Leave a Reply

