Skip to content

Daffodil Cake for Mom’s Day

May 14, 2010

I know it has been a million years since I’ve updated this blog, and I have started several posts (back in February!) but failed to complete them. I’m not promising that I’m returning with a vengeance (if I ever had a vengeance with this blog), but I hope to add posts more often than once every five months going forward.

Last weekend, TheBoyfriend and I made a mad dash to Kansas/Kansas City for a little more than 24 hours. He went to see Chelsea Handler with my sister (my mom’s birthday present to him); I went to spend (the day before) Mother’s Day with my mom. Three of her children made lunch – grilled kabobs of shrimp, chicken, and steak. The other two (my brothers) sorta helped clean up.

My mom’s favorite cake is Angel Food, and I had just received an issue of Cook’s Country which had an interesting adaption. So I made it. And orange sherbet. I liked this cake more than plain Angel Food. I’m sure it had something to do with the icing. (My mom isn’t a big frosting/icing person, but she liked the cake too.)

Daffodil Cake from Cook’s Country

Note: I would increase the orange extract to 1 teaspoon for a more distinct difference next time.

Ingredients

  • 1 angel food cake recipe (for a limited time, probably)
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1/2 teaspoon orange extract
  • 2 tablespoons cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup frozen orange juice concentrate, thawed
  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

For the cake

  1. Adjust oven rack to lower middle position
  2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  3. Reserve three cups of cake batter in a medium bowl
  4. Scrape remaining batter in at 12-cup ungreased tube pan
  5. Lightly beat egg yolks
  6. Add egg yolks and extract to the reserved cake batter and gently fold to incorporate (without deflating)
  7. Scrape into tube pan on top of plain batter
  8. Bake for 40-45 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean
  9. Cool, inverted in cake pan, until cake reaches room temperature (approximately 3 hours)
  10. Remove cake and place on a serving platter

For the glaze

  1. Whisk cream cheese and orange juice in a medium bowl until smooth
  2. Add confectioners’ sugar and whisk until smooth
  3. Drizzle over top of cooled cake
  4. Let glaze set for 30 minutes
  5. Garnish with orange slices
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

